The Plan

#ThrowbackPieces, Poetry

ThrowbackPieces-The-Plan

I wrote this piece a few years ago and the plan still stands.

The attention span of the modern mind
Isn’t enough time for you to understand my plan
Conceived ever since I came to this land
You could only perceive a glimpse of my dreams
If you cared to read through all of my seams
Sown on blank sheets with black ink
From a pen so attached to my hand
You’d think it’s ink I bleed

Rhymes written in cursive, read and rehearsed then
Performed to you for you to concur with
My claim to fame was never about monetary gain
Although I’d hope you appreciate and remember the name
I only wish to share my vision so we could look at this world the same

Society’s screwed up how we let greed rule us
Many know this but choose to remain passive
People pray for change but won’t join the masses
Words are more powerful than swords
There’s no need for violence

I hold this to be true, the ink of a scholar
Is worth more than the blood of a martyr
Now at this point your attention’s probably beginning to wane
So before I finish let me share with you this
The first part of my plan, my first and foremost wish
The first of my dreams would be that Poetry Lead A Nation
I say it again, my capital P.L.A.N.
Would be that Poetry Lead A Nation

Leave a comment